NEWS 11 Nov 19

HWC 2022/23

HWC 2022/23

Hockey World Cups 2022 (& 2023)

The FIH has selected India to host the 2023 Men’s World Cup (13-29 January 2023) and Spain and the Netherlands to co-host the 2022 Women’s World Cup (1-17 July 2022). The schedule of the 2022 FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup will be as follows:

Preliminary Phase:
- 2 Preliminary phase pools in the Netherlands (including the Dutch team)
- 2 Preliminary phase pools in Spain (including the Spanish team)
Quarter Finals:
- 2 crossover matches and 2 quarter-finals in the Netherlands
- 2 crossover matches and 2 quarter-finals in Spain
Final phase in Spain:
- Semi-finals
- Match for 3rd place
- Final

World Cup Qualifiers introduced!

After the drama of the Olympic Qualifiers the FIH have approved the qualification process for World Cup qualifiers and have included qualifying matches for those who don't qualify through Continental Championships: -
  • The hosts will qualify automatically
  • The winners of the Continental Championships will qualify directly (5 teams)
  • The remaining teams making up the 16 nations in the FIH Hockey World Cup will qualify through home-and-away play-offs; the teams involved in these qualifiers will be determined by Continental quotas, based on the FIH World Rankings at the end of the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 and the finishing positions of teams in the Continental Championships 

The cart is empty


£0.00 GBP

View Basket
Earn up to

Are you in the right place?

Would you like to go your local website?